Christmas fair and Christmas lights switch on.

Today I was the photographer at the school Christmas grotto!  I got volunteered because I have a fancy camera!!  I actually have no idea what I am doing with my fancy camera!  Because it is such a good camera I do get loads of great photo’s but mainly down to having such good kit rather than any talent!!  I was really nervous because I knew I would only have one or two shots at each child!!!

The grotto was also really busy with kids coming in a steady stream for the full 2 and a half hours.  Historically Father Christmas’s photographer doesn’t dress up but if I did it again I’d dress up!!  I felt a bit daft in my own clothes.  I heard some bizarre requests and conversations, the strangest being one child who came in with a sheet of maths for Father Christmas to complete…including things like 37 multiplied by 56…..  This child asked Father Christmas the sums and Father Christmas just said they were far too complicated for him…but the boy then gave him the sheet for him to complete and bring back with his presents!!!!!!!!!!!  Mad!!!!!!!!!!

I also had another child come in and when Father Christmas said if you look over there she’ll take your picture L replied “she has got a name!”  Father Christmas then asked is he knew me and he said “yes she’s my Mum’s friend, Byrney”…..I was trying so hard not to die laughing!!  But he was right…Father Christmas did just keep saying “she!”

When Caitlin, Noah and Austin came in Noah as usual launched into his million questions!!  “are you real”…I think that’s his favourite one for Father Christmas!  “where are your reindeer”, “how did you get here”….etc!!!

Kings

All of the photo’s I took turned out ok.  There were some that really could have been better, but I didn’t delete the whole lot or accidentally nudge my setting button and take them all on the wrong mode or anything else disastrous!  I did have quite a few issues with kids refusing to go near Father Christmas and so looking terrified or hysterical in their photos but all in all it worked ok!

Straight after the fair we went to watch our local lights switch on.  Caitlin got to meet Hello Kitty!!!

cl1

There were a few acts on before the main switch on and there was a woman in the crowd dancing away having the time of her life.  All of a sudden she got up on stage with one of the singers!!

cl2

It was very funny!

The person switching on the lights was Jade Ellis from this years X-Factor!!  Quite a big name for our local lights!!  And since there is only ever about 100 people there we were really close to her…it was great!!

cl3

Austin waved at her and she waved back…or so we thought, so I waved at her and she waved at us again!!  She was definitely waving just at us!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

